6 Inducted to Wesleyan’s Athletic Hall of Fame

Olivia DrakeOctober 22, 20144min

Wesleyan’s Athletics Department welcomed five notable former athletes and one coach into the seventh class of Wesleyan’s Athletics Hall of Fame Oct. 17. The inductees include Joe Barry Morningstar ’39; Cochrane Chase ’54; Marion Stoj, M.D. ’74; Thomas Vincent Reifenheiser III ’94; Sarah Hann, DVM ’95; and J. Elmer Swanson, track and cross country coach. Chase, a tremendous football and wrestling talent, was unable to attend the event.

The Wesleyan University Athletics Hall of Fame grew out of the collaborative work of the Athletics Advisory Council (AAC), founded in the fall of 2006, and the Wesleyan administrative. Though the inventory of outstanding coaches and competitors was especially daunting for early class selection, with significant research and considerable discussion the selection committee was able to provide a slate of inductees representing over 100 years of Wesleyan athletics.

The event included an Athletic Hall of Fame reception, dinner and award ceremony. John Biddiscombe, adjunct professor of physical education, emeritus, presented the awards. Read past Athletics Hall of Fame stories here.

(Photos by Dat Vu ’15)

J. Elmer Swanson joined the Cardinal staff in 1963 as a track and cross-country coach, adding the women’s teams in both sports to his portfolio when they turned varsity during the 1970s. He served as a mentor to hundreds of Wesleyan student-athletes during his 30 years as a full-time head coach.

Marion Stoj, M.D. ’74, a high-scoring forward in men’s soccer, earned All-America honors.
Thomas Vincent Reifenheiser III ’94 was the most accomplished men’s tennis player in Wesleyan history, who earned NESCAC crowns and national Division III ITA titles. He also played squash and was the team’s No. 1 player for two seasons.
Joe Barry Morningstar ’39 was a three-sport standout in football, basketball and baseball. His son, Bruce Morningstar, accepted the award on his behalf.


Sarah Hann, D.V.M.  ’95 was an outstanding distance runner for the Cardinals with a NESCAC cross-country title and All-America laurels.
Sarah Hann ’95 accepts her award from John Biddiscombe.
J. Elmer Swanson speaks at the award ceremony.