8 Student-Athletes Recognized with NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Awards

NESCAC_Primary_RGBThe NESCAC has announced the 2014-15 winter recipients of the All-Sportsmanship awards for each of the 11 member colleges. In total, eight Wesleyan athletes have been recognized with one in each of the eight winter sports (men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s ice hockey, men’s and women’s swimming and diving, and men’s and women’s squash). They are James Albrecht ’15 (men’s ice hockey), Liz Baumgartner ’15 (women’s swimming and diving), Mike DeLalio ’15 (men’s squash), Bridget Doherty ’16 (women’s squash), Bryan Galvin ’15 (men’s basketball), Cara Jankowsi ’15 (women’s ice hockey), Cherkira Lashley ’15 (women’s basketball), Travis Williams ’15 (men’s swimming and diving).

The NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. They display sportsmanship, not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators.

For more information and a list of all-sportsmanship award winners in each winter sport throughout the NESCAC, click here.