Morawski Receives Lifetime Achievement Award from American Psychological Association

Lauren RubensteinSeptember 16, 20132min
Jill Morawski
Jill Morawski

The American Psychological Association’s (APA) Society for the History of Psychology gave Wilbur Fisk Osborne Professor Jill Morawski the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at its annual meeting in Honolulu, HI from July 31-Aug. 4. The award is presented to individuals who have “made sustained, outstanding, and unusual contributions to the history of psychology over a career.” Graham Richards was also given the award this year.

At the organization’s 2012 annual meeting in Orlando, Fla., Morawski was invited to deliver the Mary Whiton Calkins Address, named after the first woman president of the APA and an innovative psychologist. The address, given annually at meetings of the APA, “serves as a forum for historical scholarship on under-represented groups in the history of psychology, such as women or ethnic minorities, or on alternative, marginalized perspectives on the history of psychology, such as Calkins’ self psychology.” Morawski’s lecture was titled, “Ephemeral Subjects; Toward a History of Research Participants.”

Morawski is also professor of psychology, professor of science in society, professor of feminist, gender and sexuality studies.