Donna Morea is Chair-elect of the Board of Trustees

Lauren RubensteinMay 22, 20153min
Donna Morea '76, P'06
Donna Morea ’76, P’06

Wesleyan University’s Board of Trustees has elected Donna Morea ’76, P’06 as Chair of the Board for a two-year term beginning July 1, 2016. The election took place at the Board’s meeting on campus May 22.

Morea will succeed Joshua Boger ’73, P’06, P’09, who will step down in June 2016 after 7 years as Chair.

“The Board asked Joshua to continue his leadership through the conclusion of the capital campaign and he has graciously agreed,” said Shonni Silverberg ’76, chair of the Board’s Governance Committee. “He and his fellow Board members felt it would be advantageous to elect his successor now for a transition year as Board Chair-elect.

“Donna brings to her role as Board Chair extensive experience in managing complex organizations, combined with considerable financial savvy and a warm and engaging style,” Silverberg added.

Morea is an internationally recognized executive in the IT services and software communities. She is currently the CEO of Adesso Group, a private consulting and advisory firm, helping businesses develop growth strategies and improve operational performance. She also serves as an independent director of SunTrust Bank (NYSE:STI) and SAIC (NYSE:SAIC).

In 2011, she retired from a successful 31-year career at American Management Systems (AMS) and CGI. As President of CGI Technologies and Solutions, she led CGI’s business in the US, Europe and Asia-Pacific. Her clients included some of the world’s largest and most complex organizations in government, healthcare, financial services, and telecommunications.

Active in community service, she serves as a director of Share Our Strength, a global anti-hunger organization, and as a trustee of the Inova Health System, the largest health care provider in Northern Virginia. She is a chairman emeritus of the Northern Virginia Technology Council, serving more than 1,000 member companies.

Her service on Wesleyan’s Board has included chairing the Finance and University Relations committees. She received a Distinguished Alumna Award from Wesleyan in 2006.