Lauren RubensteinMay 24, 20153min
  During the 183rd Commencement ceremony, President Michael Roth awarded the Binswanger Prize for Excellence in Teaching to three faculty, and the Raymond E. Baldwin Medal to an alumnus. Three outstanding teachers are recognized annually with the Binswanger Prize for Excellence in Teaching. This year, President Michael Roth honored Michael Calter, David Schorr and Gina Athena Ulysse for their excellence in teaching. The prizes are made possible by gifts from the family of the late Frank G. Binswanger Sr., Hon. ’85, and underscore Wesleyan’s commitment to its scholar-teachers, who are responsible for the university’s distinctive approach to liberal arts education. (more…)

Olivia DrakeSeptember 2, 20101min
Michael Calter, associate professor of chemistry, received a $472,490 grant from the National Institutes of Health for his study titled “Asymmetric C-C Bond-Forming Reactions Catalyzed by Cinchona Alkaloid Derivatives.” The grant will fund this research through July 31, 2013. The project described was supported by Award Number R15GM094764 from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.