Staff on the Move

The Office of Human Resources reported the following new hires, advancements and transitions, and departures for April 2014:

Newly hired
Ryan Launder was hired as an administrative assistant for the Green Street Arts Center on April 14.
Doug Gilchrist was hired as a boiler tender in the Central Power Plant – Physical Plant on April 15.
Geralyn Ternullo was hired as an administrative assistant for the annual fund on April 21.
Meg O’Brien was hired as an associate director of financial planning on April 28.

Jennifer Curran was appointed Director of Continuing Studies. She served as Interim Director of Continuing Studies since November, before which she served as Associate Director for Student Services and Outreach in Continuing Studies and Graduate Liberal Studies.

Evan Carney, assistant dean of admissions.
Rob Schmidt, senior project manager of construction services.

Students, Faculty, Staff Honored with Helping Hand Awards

Daphne Kwok '84 was the keynote speaker.

Daphne Kwok ’84 was the keynote speaker.

Students, faculty and staff who exercised cultural sensitivity, helped promote diversity and inclusion, and improved the campus climate were recognized at the annual Edgar Beckham Helping Hand Awards ceremony held April 27. The event brought together generations of alumni, students, faculty and staff to celebrate the tenets that make Wesleyan “Diversity University.” The keynote speaker this year was Daphne Kwok ’84.

The awards are sponsored by the Administrators and Faculty of Color Alliance, African American Studies Program,  Alumni of Color Council,  Edgar Beckham Fund, Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship, and Office of Equity and Inclusion.

Honored at the ceremony were:


Foot in the Door Award (Freshman Award)- Sadasia McCutchen ’17

Excellence in Athletics Award- Angela Slevin ’15

Excellence in the Arts Award- Yiyang Wang ’15

Elsa Hardy '14

Elsa Hardy ’14

Excellence in Science Award- LaNell Williams ’15

Academic Excellence Award- Elsa Hardy ’14

Senior Legacy Award- Oladoyin Oladapo ’14

Campus Inspiration Award- Ari Ebstein ’16



Lois Brown, Class of 1958 Distinguished Professor, professor of African American studies, professor of English

Suzanne O’Connell, professor of earth and environmental sciences, faculty director of the McNair Program

Gina Ulysse, associate professor of anthropology

Renee Johnson-Thornton, dean for diversity and student engagement, coordinator of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship

Sarah Mahurin, visiting assistant professor of English, visiting assistant professor of African American studies
Photos of the event are below: (Photos by Diego Song ’15)

Helping Hands Awards 2014.

Helping Hands Awards 2014.